USA World Cup 2022 roster: Wright and Ream in squad, Steffen and Pepi out | USA

Haji Wright, Joe Scally and Sean Johnson were among the 26 players selected for the United States’ World Cup squad while Zack Steffen, Paul Arriola and Ricardo Pepi failed to make the cut.

USA coach Gregg Berhalter made the announcement on Wednesday afternoon at a special televised event at Brooklyn Steel, less than two weeks before his side’s opener against Wales on 21 November at Al Rayyan’s Ahmad bin Ali Stadium.

All but one of the players chosen for the 26-man roster will aim to play in their first World Cup with DeAndre Yedlin the lone holdover from when the United States last qualified in 2014.

Berhalter can make changes up until Monday, the FIFA deadline for submitting the official list. After then, injured players can be replaced on the roster until 24 hours before the USA’s opening match.

Nine players are from Major League Soccer. Eight are based with English clubs, two each play in Germany, Italy and Spain, and one apiece plays in France, Scotland and Turkey.

Berhalter, who said the entire team will be together by 14 November before traveling to Qatar, will become the first man to represent the USA at the World Cup as both a player and a coach after playing in both the 2002 and 2006 tournaments.

Playing in their 11th overall World Cup and the eighth of the last nine, the United States have been drawn into the strongest group in Qatar by Fifa ranking. Berhalter’s side play their first Group B match against Wales on 21 November, face off with England four days later and meet Iran on 29 November.


Goalkeepers Ethan Horvath (Luton Town), Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Matt Turner (Arsenal)

Defenders Cameron Carter-Vickers (Celtic), Sergino Dest (AC Milan), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Shaq Moore (Nashville SC), Tim Ream (Fulham), Antonee Robinson (Fulham), Joe Scally (Borussia Mönchengladbach), DeAndre Yedlin (Inter Miami), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders Brenden Aaronson (Leeds United), Kellyn Acosta (Los Angeles FC), Tyler Adams (Leeds United), Luca de ka Torre (Celta de Vigo), Weston McKennie (Juventus), Yunus Musah (Valencia), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders)

Forwards Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Christian Pulisic (Chelsea), Gio Reyna (Borussia Dortmund), Josh Sargent (Norwich City), Tim Weah (Lille), Haji Wright (Antalyaspor)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *